CaribbeanEditor's PicksPopular

EU Drops Grenada From Tax-Haven Blacklist, Keeps Saint Lucia for Now

The EU has removed Grenada – along with seven other countries – from its roster of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions, leaving Saint Lucia the only remaining CIP-country on the list.

Grenada, Panama, Barbados, South Korea, Macau, Mongolia, Tunisia, and the UAE are now off the “blacklist” and have been moved onto a “grey list”, a group of jurisdictions about which the EU has “concerns” but which it thinks is in the process of “improving”.

See also: What the EU’s Blacklisting Means for Saint Lucia and Grenada by Matthew P. Yngson.

Brussels devised the listing scheme as a means of pressuring non-EU jurisdictions to raise taxes and forcing them to disclose the private financial data of its tax residents. 

The Union has not explained its sudden decision to cut eight jurisdictions from its blacklist. Critics of the list say the EU is acting in a hypocritical manner, as several of its own member-states do not conform to the criteria that would keep them off the list.

A message from our partners
Middle East Road Show Ad

Read: Tilting at Offshore Windmills: Aim Paradise Papers Anger At Government, Not Rich People

Our readers are the best-informed professionals in the investment migration industry.
Get the most important stories delivered. Once a week, we’ll send you a curated newsletter with the most important stories.

Want updates every day?
Be the first in your company to know about breaking investment migration news

Christian Henrik Nesheim AdministratorKeymaster

Christian Henrik Nesheim is the founder and editor of Investment Migration Insider, the #1 magazine – online or offline – for residency and citizenship by investment. He is an internationally recognized expert, speaker, documentary producer, and writer on the subject of investment migration, whose work is cited in the Economist, Bloomberg, Fortune, Forbes, Newsweek, and Business Insider. Norwegian by birth, Christian has spent the last 16 years in the United States, China, Spain, and Portugal.

follow me